The beginning of carpal tunnel?

Or something worse?

I was cutting ribbon into one inch pieces last night for my Cozy Corset Cuffs.  For every eight bits of ribbon, I marked a little line on a piece of paper so that I could keep track of how many cozies worth of ribbon I had cut (a total of 960 1-inch pieces of ribbon).  The problem was, every time I went to mark the paper, I had a bear of a time gripping the pen.  I felt like I was barely able to hold onto it; it took sheer force to actually make the mark on the paper.

This isn’t the first time I have had problems with this.  Even now, 10 hours later, I’m still having trouble closing my hands into a fist.  If it were just my right hand (and admittedly, it’s stronger in my right hand), I would chalk it up to cutting 960 bits of ribbon.  But I can’t grip my left hand either.  And I’ve had this happen when I haven’t cut anything at all.

I remember not long ago (no more than a couple weeks, but everything blends together lately) I was having thumb wars with my boyfriend, and I kept laughing and complaining that I couldn’t hold on to him.  There simply wasn’t enough strength in my hand to grip his.

I’m thoroughly convinced my body is falling apart.  I can think of way to many problems.  WAY too many.  I’m too young, as everyone tells me.  “You can’t have problems with your memory–you’re too young!”  “You can’t be so tired–you’re too young!”  “Your back can’t hurt–you’re too young!”  Bite me.  I can’t remember, I’m tired, and I hurt EVERYWHERE.  I feel like I’m complaining all the time, but there is literally something wrong all the time.  That’s just where it’s at.

Good thing I have a doctors appointment in a few days.  It’s about freaking time.  It’s a good thing we don’t have socialized medicine, or I would have had to wait forever to see a doctor.  Oh… wait!  They made me make my appointment TWO MONTHS in advance.  Ugh.

January 24, 2008. Tags: , , , , , , . Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. Rocketdog replied:

    You should TOTALLY ask for the antibody tests (the set of 3 or 4 blood tests to rule out Lupus)…..even if it’s just for your piece of mind. Or arthritis….I think that’s a blood test too. Just eat before you go or you’ll pass out. Trust me…I know these things 🙂

  2. dangerkittydesigns replied:

    Actually, I’ve had the Lupus test and it was negative. I was going to see if they wanted to run it again, BUT I can’t eat before I go because I also plan on asking them to test me for diabetes, and that has to be fasting.

    I didn’t know arthritis was confirmed with a blood test… interesting.

  3. Rocketdog replied:

    I believe it’s part of the diagnosis……
    I have to have a diabetes test in a couple of months. I’m SO not looking forward to that!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

