Mad Hatter

I had a meeting today with some lovely ladies of the Minnesota Etsy Street Team, and I know at least one of them has been instrumental in convincing me I can wear hats.  And when I became obsessed with the idea of making a hat right at the time I needed to be sewing for everyone but me, she walked a fine line between encouraging me to keep working on presents and telling me to just make the damn hat already.

So as I was washing dishes this morning, I decided I would set out to get a hat done before the meeting.  Even if it meant leaving the rest of the dishes and all the laundry until after the meeting.  And not getting my grocery shopping done….  But it was worth it.

dscn30051

It’s made of brown classic twill and a pink, brown, and white striped calico.  In theory it’s reversible, but I’m not really the pink, brown, and white striped hat kind of gal.  I followed this super simple tutorial, though next time I would make a few tweaks.  The only tweaks I made this time around is putting the lining on the brim (or peak, as she calls it) instead of just using the twill and I didn’t put a button on top (as I didn’t have any, and wasn’t sure how well twill would work with the covered buttons I have).

dscn3009

Can someone please tell me what 90s icon had a hat that resembled this picture?  All I can think of is Dwayne Wayne, but those were flip up glasses….  I feel there was a rapper with a neon hat with a turned brim…  Anyway.  The hat is a little tight, so I just need to tweak the size for next time.  Maybe that will also help with the elf-ear issue it appears to be giving me.  Still, overall, I love this hat to pieces, and I can’t wait to make more.

(I don’t have any other finished or exciting projects from the previous weeks of the year, but as far as my stash bash goes, I’ve gotten rid of three pieces of fabric so far.)

February 8, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , . crafting life, handmade, pictures.

3 Comments

  1. Tracy Lee replied:

    Will “Fresh Prince” Smith wore a neon hat like that (sorta).

  2. DK replied:

    I was close. My other guess was DJ Jazzy Jeff, and Parents Just Don’t Understand kept running through my head, haha

  3. The Cheap Chick replied:

    I’m with everyone else – it was the Fresh Prince. Dwayne Wayne was a FP wannabe. Which is very sad, when you think about it…

    Cute hat! And totally worth blowing off the dishes for.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

