Wreck This Journal 02/27/09

I’m still rather nervous about breaking into my journal.  I resist doing things at random.  I resist even more being told to magically come up with something.  When someone asks me to tell them a story, I go blank.  Even if someone said “come up with a color/number/animal,” I’d stare at them dumbfounded.

Ever the cop-out, I decided to try this page, thinking it would be easy as pie:

Crack the Spine

Crack the Spine

Let me preface this by saying I only buy used books (apparently with the exception of this one).  My reasons are many, but include being poor and being hard on my books.  I currently have a book in my bag that’s covered in drips of soda.  Oops.  I am no stranger to a cracked spine, is what I’m trying to say.  I like my books to be warn in and loved.

This, apparently, has dulled my ability to crack a spine.  Either that, or this is one amazingly made book.  Probably both.  The spine -maybe- bent a little.  But crack it did not.

Mind the mess the Hippy left after cleaning out his car

Mind the mess the Hippy left after cleaning out his car

The book, however, does now remain partially open at all times, which I’m going to consider a small success.  Hopefully the spine will crack more over time.  If not, I want my money back.

Did my best to keep the mess out of this one

Did my best to keep the mess out of this one

Since I know that’s not a proper “wreck,” I decided to take on another page.  One marked “Scribble wildly, violently, with reckless abandon.”  Eep!  Reckless abandon?  Have you met me?  I need plans.  Order.  I draw out everything that needs “placement” before I ever begin working. *hyperventalating*

Oh, get over yourself, DK…

Violently, indeed.  My pen left holes

Violently, indeed. My pen left holes

I plan to revisit this one on a regular basis, actually.  It demands more colors, and I think it’s a rather good way for me to let go.  It’s not about looking pretty; it’s about getting the willies out of you.

February 27, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , . pictures, wreck this journal.

One Comment

  1. The Cheap Chick replied:

    I’ve found that sitting on your books, while they’re open to a particular page, cracks the spine nicely…

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

