Fabric from Heaven

One of the perks of my job is that I get to see pretty much every single bolt of fabric that comes in AS it comes in.  The downside is I often have to stress about where this fabric is going to go.  Right now, I’m stressing.  I hollered at my boss to tell him I didn’t need any more fabric, we were well stocked.  He said he’d put the rest at my house.  Nice!

2006_12_28_lahore_colour_cart_520x390

Okay, he was joking, of course.  But I started to think about what I would do if a truck load of fabric showed up at my door, free of charge.

1. I’d quit my job with the hopes that I could supplement my living by selling the things I’d made.  I would certainly never have the time to use a truck load of fabric if I were working full time.

2. I’d become fearless in my sewing.  No doubt there would be fabric in there I didn’t like.  With that, I could practice all the things I’m not sure would work.

3. I’d make more clothes.  I’d work on more upholstry projects.  I wouldn’t have to make little things just because little things are all I could afford.  (Much like Kraft Dinner, I’d keep making little things…)

4. I’d cover the walls of my craft area with fabric so it wasn’t so depressing down there.  And change it often.

5. I’d redecorate my house.

6. I’d make a ton of things to sell, and then I’d buy another truckload of fabric with the earnings.  Because free trucks of fabric don’t show up at your door everyday…

7. I’d use the rest of my earnings to buy a ticket for Ships and Dip and get the hell out of the frozen tundra for a week.

March 6, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , , . crafting life.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

